Just two recitals and I’m a master

Recently, when speaking about the MMus in Vocal Performance and Literature to a group of researchers at the #fimulaw day, I put my foot right in my mouth and said something to the effect of “to get your MMus in performance, you just do two recitals and they give you a master’s. It’s easy!” Speak to any of my colleagues and they’ll tell you I’m off my rocker – it’s not easy at all. As you know, of course I don’t think it’s easy, but someone translated my fumble into what I really meant: “it’s easy to get this degree because so much of it relies on doing exactly what you want.” All I had to do was struggle through a few courses I didn’t love, sail through a few courses I did, and prepare and perform two recitals with the help of an incredible team of musicians and friends.

This all goes to say that, on Friday, March 17th, I performed my final Master’s recital – A Mezzo’s Musical Menagerie – and it went swimmingly. Anyone who has been around me for the past…eight? months knows that I’ve been ridiculously excited about every single aspect of this recital. Paul, Jackie and I chose music that showcases my vocal abilities, that entertains and delights, and that is mostly unknown. After such an exciting year, I couldn’t have asked for my recital to go better, and especially since my family bore witness to the final milestone of my degree. Paul Digout was a hero on the piano, and we acquitted ourselves well, as well as elicited a fair few laughs from the audience.

I have almost never had that much fun performing (Schicchi will always hold a place in my heart and funny-bone), and this recital was what felt like a culmination of not just my MMus, but my whole 6 years of post-secondary study. As Jackie said, ‘second year Master’s and she finally figured out how to sing!’ I couldn’t agree more. As my dad will tell anyone who will listen, I have always had dramatic plateaus and bouts of success, and I fought through a lot of embarrassing performances and disappointing exams to make it here. I am so grateful to all of the people who helped me get here, who supported me, and to my family who said ‘good job,’ even when I tried to belt my music theatre piece at the age of 13 with zero belting experience (yes, it was as awkward as you’re imagining).

With all of that, I am done with school for a while! On to the next as they say, and the next is quickly learning four roles for this summer. Much to my relief, my participation in Cunning Little Vixen is limited to 6 pages in the first act, which will give me time to dive into the comedy of Patience at Nuova, and the drama of Bradamante in Alcina at AEDO. As I look to the summer, I can tell it’s going to be an awful lot of hard work, and exceedingly satisfying as well. I am looking forward to spending time with some of the incredible people I have met here, and I also am eager to make new acquaintances. For now, I must learn how to make my voice dance around in the coloratura of Handel! Until the next, and hopefully more frequent posts my friends!

Leave a comment