Writing Prompt #5: ‘I’m actually just 12 turtles in a trenchcoat’

Me. I said that. And if you don’t know me well, you may not have known that about me. But I am the twelve-turtle-trenchcoat-trickster. And it has been eating me alive. Slowly, of course, but eating me alive nonetheless. After much consideration, I have decided to come clean. I’m ready to come out of my shell.

Ambling towards this conclusion for years, I finally have realized that I need to explain to you all the driving force behind my cartilaginous* character. So, for the next 11 days (today is day 12?), I will introduce you to the Twelve Turtles™.

Introducing…

  1. Gregory

I think we all know a Gregory in our lives, and we all know what he’s like. Urban Dictionary defines it like this: Gregory is the name of a male, often a lion with a giant heart. But, as stated above, Gregory is one of twelve turtles that create the illusion of me. His lion-hearted nature certainly gives me my 8.3% bravery. I am grateful for Gregory because without him, I probably would never wander on stage, apply for new jobs, or eat lettuce at a painfully plodding pace. Like another famous Greg (Kinnear), Gregory was born on June 17, and is a Gemini, just like the person he is 1/12th of. He is a crucial component of my being, and I look forward to introducing you to his 11 partners in crime. In due time.

 

*I didn’t know this word before. I looked it up for this. Def: (of a structure) made of cartilage.

Leave a comment